The Transition: Health to Tech

"Nobody was born a programmer, we all learned"

Print ("Hello World") My name is Munachiso Elekwa, and I am excited(read as nervous) to finally put up my first post on this Platform. I am a Pharmacist by day, and a Software developer at night.

I heard about 'tech' and coding, for the first time, when I joined twitter(the best Social Media platform by the way) in 2020. I was totally clueless about what a career in technology meant. I knew Google, Amazon, Company websites etc were tech products, but I didn't think human beings like me were behind them. I was exposed to alot of information concerning career opportunities in tech, and it sounded like fun. I began to explore. After a few html and not-so-fun Css lessons, I thought that maybe I was right about these tech guys not being human beings like me. I focused on finishing my final exams and getting my B.Pharm degree.

Thanks to Social media pressure, I went back to watching html and css videos in 2021. I consumed alot of information about software development, joined communities (She Code Africa), and this time around, I was determined to actually learn and become a Software developer. I registered with Alt School Africa for a twelve-month diploma in Backend Engineering, passed the entrance exam and got in April 2022.

I'm very proud of my growth and how far I have come. From 'Hello World', to building functional web apps, it has been an interesting journey, and although I love being a Pharmacist, I will be transitioning fully to tech very soon.

Programming languages and frameworks aside, my transition also taught me to believe in myself. I saw the introductory quote of this article some where, and it has been a weapon against imposter syndrome for me. I had alot of fears, but I learnt to do it afraid.

I'm writing this to document my journey, because I know articles like this encouraged me while I was starting out, and I hope it helps others too. Thank you for reading if you got to this point, I will keep writing because of you.❤